Investec Mauritius Ocean Classic 2019

INVESTEC Mauritius Ocean Classic, highlight of the Mauritius Surfski Week, is a race which takes place on one of the best downwind courses in the world. 


This event is an ICF Ocean Racing World Cup race since 2016. It has also been considered as one of the best races of the World Series, since its first edition in 2009.


Date: Saturday the 29 June 2019


Race Start will be at Sancho situated at Bel Ombre in the South of Mauritius. Finish will be at Le Morne beach, situated in the South-south West of Mauritius. Start time will be 10:00 am but can be adjusted according to weather conditions. It will be a deep water start: Ladies will start 15-20 minutes before the Men. All seeded top paddlers will be allocated the front line of the start, all other paddlers will line up behind these paddlers.


The course runs parallel to the southern coastline from Sancho Bay at Bel Ombre out to the seaward side of the Coral reef to the pass through the Coral reef at Le Morne. The distance is 24km. The predominant wind is the Easterly Trades, blowing consistently between 12-25 knots each day. Lead boats and safety support boats will be present on the entire race. These are manned by experienced skippers of JPH Charters.


Inside reef race: the Investec Mauritius Ocean Classic insider will also take place on the same day. The race will start in front of C-Beach Club at Bel Ombre. Start time will be 10:00 am but can be adjusted according to weather conditions. It will be a deep water start. The course fully runs inside the lagoon parallel to the coastline of Bel Ombre, St. Martin, Baie du Cap and le Morne villages. Finish is at le Morne beach, the same finish area as for the outside reef race.


Important Notice for the race date: all participants must be available as from Thursday 27 June 2019 as this days as well as Friday 28 June 2019 are both reserve dates for the race, if forecast shows and if any matter beyond our control happens, that the race cannot take place on Saturday 29 June 2019.

Main race route hereunder

Race Rules and Regulations can be downloaded at Register Page of the website